Latest Badminton News and Articles

Hong Kheng and Yao Han survive Indon attack to make last four

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Category: Badminton News Published: 18 July 2009
Posted by Hits: 1068

PETALING JAYA: Shuttlers Yew Hong Kheng-Ow Yao Han lived up to their top billing when they defeated Indonesia’s Berry Anggriawan-Muhammad Ulin­nu­ha in the boys’ doubles quarter-finals of the Asian Junior Champion­ships yesterday.

Hong Kheng-Yao Han overcame streams of attack from the Indonesians to chalk up a 21-13, 12-21, 21-15 win at the Juara Stadium in Bukit Kiara yesterday.

The Malaysian pair wrested control in the opening game but the Indonesians upped the ante to clinch the second game. But Hong Kheng-Yao Han prevailed in the rubber to go through to the last four.

“We were attacked continuously in the second game probably because we gave them the opportunities to do so,” said Hong Kheng.

“So the coach told us to play closer to the net and to push them into defence during the rubber game and it worked.”

The pair will face a tough fight in the semi-finals from South Koreans Kang Ji-wook-Choi Seung-il.

Ji-wook-Seung-il had earlier defeat­ed Malay­sia’s Goh Jian Hao-Pang Zheng Lin 21-19, 21-12.

With a solid three-year partnership formed with Hong Kheng, Yao Han is confident of a win against the South Koreans.

“They are good but we will give our best to win tomorrow (today). The pressure will be great on us to deliver,” said Yao Han.

Another Malaysian pair, Yeoh Choong Yee-Chooi Kah Ming lost to Thailand’s Phuangphuapet Nipitphon-D. Caballes Tin 21-17, 16-21, 15-21 in the last eight.


Fourth round (involving Malaysians): Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin bt Hermansah (Ina) 21-17, 21-17; Misbun Ramdan Misbun bt Watanabe Tatsuya (Jpn) 26-24, 7-21, 22-20; Zulfadli Zulkifli bt H.S. Prannoy (Ind) 21-18, 21-14; Mohd Syawal Ismail bt Prinyawat Thongnuam (Tha) 24-22, 21-19

Quarter-finals: Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin bt Pisit Poodchalat (Tha) 16-21, 21-13, 21-12; Misbun Ramdan Misbun bt Li Yisheng (Chn) 23-21, 14-21, 21-19; Tian Houwei (Chn) bt Zulfadli Zulkifli 23-21, 21-16; Mohd Syawal Ismail bt Hao Hsu-jen (Tpe) 21-17, 19-21, 21-16.


Third round (involving Malaysians): Yew Hong Kheng-Ow Yao Han bt Pawarit Supasri-Watchara Buranakruea (Tha) 21-7, 21-15; Goh Jian Hao-Pang Zheng Lin bt Tran Duc Phong-Le Ha Anh (Vie) 21-19, 12-21, 21-19; Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Tin D. Caballes (Tha) bt Tan Wee Tat-Lau Win Hwi 21-15, 19-21, 22-20; Yeoh Choong Kee-Chooi Kah Ming bt Wang Tianyang-Pei Tianyi (Chn) 22-20, 21-9.

Quarter-finals: Yew Hong Kheng-Ow Yao Han (Mas) bt Berry Anggriawan-Mohd Ulinnuha (Ina) 21-13, 12-21, 21-15; Kang Ji-wook-Choi Seung-il (Kor) bt Goh Jian Hao-Pang Zheng Lin (Mas) 21-19, 21-12; Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Tin C. Caballes (Tha) bt Yeoh Choong Yee-Chooi Kah Ming (Mas) 17-21, 21-16, 21-15; Angga Pratama-Rendy Yohanes Sugiarto (Ina) bt Pranav Chopra-Praneet B. Sai (Ind) 21-17, 21-8.


Third round (involving Malaysians): Takahashi Sayaka (Jpn) bt Sonia Cheah 21-10, 16-21, 21-9; Tai Tsu-ying (Tpe) bt Florah Ng 21-18, 21-12; Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) bt Tee Jing Yi 21-10, 21-13.

Quarter-finals: Ying Tai-tsu (Tpe) bt Takahashi Sayaka (Jpn) 21-13, 18-21, 21-18; Febby Angguni (Ina) bt Liu Yingmei (Chn) 21-10, 21-14; Chen Xiaojia (Chn) bt Siti Anida Lestari Qorytin (Ina) 21-19, 21-14; Ana Rovita (Ina) bt Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) 21-14, 21-14.


Third round (involving Malaysians): Ng Hui Ern-Lai Pei Jing bt Mitani Minatsu-Aratama Misato (Jpn) 21-18, 22-20; Fukuman Naoko-Takahashi Sayaka (Jpn) bt Florah Ng-Nurhani Abdul Aziz 21-13, 21-14.

Quarter-finals: Ng Hui Ern-Lai Pei Jing bt Nguyen Thi Sen-Vu Thi Trang (Vie) 21-11, 17-21, 21-17; Xia Huan-Tang Jinhua (Chn) bt Fukuman Naoko-Takahashi Sayaka (Jpn) 22-24, 21-10, 21-17; Rodjana Chuthabunditkul-Sapriree Taerattanachai (Tha) bt Liu Xin-Bao Yixin (Chn) 24-22, 10-21, 21-15; Luo Ying-Luo Yu (Chn) bt Poon Lok Yan-Tse Ying Suet (Hkg) 22-20, 21-10.


Third round (involving Malaysians): Pisit Pood­chalat-Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) bt Ow Yao Han-Lai Pei Jing 21-12, 21-18; Tan Wee Tat-Ng Hui Ern bt Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Artima Serithammarak (Tha) 21-18, 21-17.

Quarter-finals: Chopra Pranav-Sawant Prajakta (Ind) bt Tan Wee Tat-Ng Hui Ern (Mas) 21-17, 21-12; Lu Kai-Bao Yixin (Chn) w.o. Rendy Yohanes Sugiarto-Rosalia Tiara Nuraidah (Ina); Liu Peixuan-Xia Huan (Chn) bt Pisit Poodchalat-Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) 22-20, 21-15; Maneepong Jongjit- Rodjana Chuthabunditkul (Tha) bt Kevin Alexander-Suci Rizki Andini (Ina) 21-19, 21-14.

  • No comments found



Google Plus

Replays: China Open 2015

2015 China Open Badminton Videos

Watch Replays

  • Recent News
  • Popular
Kien Keat/Boon Heong advance in Thailand GPG, Ihsan Mustofa ousts Son Wan Ho

Bangkok: Former World No. 1 men's doubles pair Koo Kien Keat

Hoon/Lim, Simon Santoso and Sony Dwi Kuncoro in Chinese Taipei GP semis

Taipei: Malaysian independent men's doubles pair Hoon Thien

Historic ranking milestone for Zhao Yunlei/Zhang Nan

Kuala Lumpur: It's getting hard to keep track of all the mix

Lin Dan displays smoking hot body to promote his own line of underwear collection

Beijing: HOT! HOT! HOT! Lin Dan shows off his super fit and

Lee Chong Wei is back! (video)

By: When He Loses, You Stay With Him!Wh

Recommended badminton news for you