Coach Hendrawan to put more emphasis on physical training (pic)

Through: Nur Mohd Azriyn Ayob beat Indonesia’s Wibowo Henrikho in the first round of the Malaysian Open Grand Pix Gold Tuesday.

After four years of trial and error, former world champion Hendrawan is ready to do it his way in a bid to whip the back-up shuttlers into world-beaters.

For a start, he will place more emphasis on physical training for his shuttlers in the next six months and cut down on the number of international tournaments.

His players will probably take part in only five more Open tournaments before the year ends. These tournaments will be spaced out so that they can spend more time on their physical training.Through: Nur Mohd Azriyn Ayob beat Indonesia’s Wibowo Henrikho in the first round of the Malaysian Open Grand Pix Gold Tuesday.

His six players – Mohd Arif Abdul Latif, Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin, Goh Soon Huat, Loh Wei Sheng, Goh Giap Chin and Nur Mohd Azriyn Ayub – will focus more on gym work and track running.

There will also be an increase on physical activities to build their strength and speed.

This, he believes, will fast-track his vision for his players to narrow the gap with world No. 1 Lee Chong Wei, who had dominated the local scene for more than a decade.

Hendrawan said that the six-month physical training would start immediately after the completion of the Malaysian Open Grand Prix Gold.

“The back-up players under me have the experience and skill but they lack endurance,” said Hendrawan.

“They’ll probably go for a tournament after every four or five weeks of solid training.

“The players’ world rankings may drop but it’s all right. I’d prefer them to be in good physical shape and produce quality performances rather than being early round casualties in every tournament.

“The days of going to tournaments for exposure is over.

“This is the start of the new Olympic cycle and we can afford to do this. It’s better we get it right so that we can produce solid players.”

Hendrawan admitted that he should have done it his way much earlier.

“Since I came, the group of players under my care has changed a couple of times. Now, I’m finally going to do it my way,” he said.

“That was how I did it with the Indonesian team. I won’t accept excuses anymore. Our back-up players have improved but they’ve not met my expectations.

“China’s Tian Houwei won the Australian Open title last month. I had not seen him on the international stage for almost a year but he showed how much he had improved physically.

“Our players are more concerned with their world rankings instead of quality performances.

“They are satisfied with quarter-final finishes. We have talents … it’s time to push them.”

Asked about the target set for the two elite shuttlers – Liew Daren and Chong Wei Feng – and his six charges, Hendrawan said: “Each has been challenged to go for the title.”

Yesterday though, one of Hendrawan’s charges bit the dust.

Wei Sheng lost 15-21, 21-19, 17-21 to Wei Nan of Hong Kong in the first round while the others cleared the first hurdle.


(Malaysians unless stated)


Men’s Doubles

First round: Ong Jian Guo-Teo Kok Siang bt Sean Lee-Loh Kean Yew (Sin) 21-10, 21-13; Chen Zhuofu- Kai Lu (Chn) bt Mohd Lutfi Zaim Abdul Khalid-Tan Wee Gieen 21-14, 21-17; Mohd Razif Abdul Latif- Mohd Hafiz Hashim bt Guru Prasad D-Vineeth Manuel (Ind) 21-7, 21-12.

Second round: Fernando Kurniawan-Lee Chun Hei (Hkg) bt Arya Maulana Adiartama-Alfian Eko Prasetya (Ina) 21-15, 19-21, 21-17; Chen-Kai bt Gwee Kang Yi-Woon Man Hung 21-5, 21-10; JIan Guo-Kok Siang bt Philip Dede Ryan-Wong Fai Yin 21-12, 21-15; Razif-Hafiz bt Mohd Adib Haiqal Nurizwan-Marcel Simon 21-8, 21-15.

Women’s Singles

First round: Aya Ohori (Jpn) bt Rituparna Das (Ind) 20-22, 21-7, 23-21; Lee Jang-mi (Kor) bt Lim Peiy Zhean 21-11, 21-8; Sarita Suwannakitborihan (Tha) bt Lim Yin Fun 21-14, 21-16; Ayumi Minie (Jpn) bt Ruthvika Shivani G (Ind) 21-16, 21-18; Natcha Saengchote (Tha) bt Grace Gabriel (Nig) 21-12, 21-12; Lim Chiew Sien bt Too Shen Yee 21-9, 21-14; Saya Yamamoto (Jpn) bt Teoh Mei Xing 21-8, 21-11; Lee Min-ji (Kor) bt Lim Payee Peiy Yee 21-15, 21-5. Second round: Aya bt Jang-mi 21-15, 21-19; Sarita bt Ayumi 13-21, 21-8, 21-19; Chiew Sien bt Natcha 21-12, 21-16; Min-ji bt Saya 23-21, 21-13.


Men’s singles: Riichi Takeshita (Jpn) bt Kuan Beng Hong 21-16, 21-10; Goh Giap Chin bt Siswanto (Ina) 21-15, 21-16; Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin bt Chong Li Qun 22-20, 21-13; Soo Hwang-jong (Kor) bt Andre Kurniawan Tedjono (Ina) 21-16, 21-19; Lee Dong-keun (Kor) bt Mohd Ajfan Rasheed (Mal) 21-9, 21-14; Sameer Verma (Ind) bt Ai Wei Jian 21-10, 21-9; Chan Yan Kit (Hkg) w.o. Abhimanyu Singh (Ind); Ng Ka Long (Hkg) bt Robin Gonansa (Ina) 21- 10,21-17; Zulfadli Zulkifli bt Ashton Chen Yong Zhao (Sin) 21-18, 21-14; Goh Soon Huat bt Sukamta Evert (Ina) 21-15, 21-9; Chiang Jiann Shiarng bt Joe Wu (Nzl) 21-12, 21-16; Beryno Wong Jiann Tze bt Oscar Bansal (Ind) 7-21, 21-16, 21-15; K. Srikanth (Ind) bt Park Sung-min (Kor) 21-13, 21-11; Suppanyu Avihingsanon (Tha) bt Dharma Alrie Guna (Ina) 20-22, 21-13, 21-15; Huang Yuxiang (Chn) bt Zulhelmi Zulkifli 21-8, 21-11; Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) bt Mohd Hafiz Hashim 21-18, 24-22; Loh Kean Yew (Sin) bt Tam Chun Hei (Hkg) 21-18, 21-18; Alamsyah Yunus (Ina) bt Victor Ong Jing Khai 21-14, 21-14; Nur Mohd Azriyn Ayub bt Wibowo Kho Henrikho (Ina) 21-18, 21-9; Mohd Arif Abdul Latif bt Adi Pratama (Ina) 21-15, 21- 14; Hong Ji-hoon (Kor) Sean Lee (Sin) 21-12, 21-15; Derek Wong Zi Liang (Sin) bt Andre Marteen (Ina) 21-16, 21-16; R.M.V. Gurusaidutt (Ina) bt Huang Chan (Sin) 21-19, 14-21, 21-17; Liew Daren bt Kaizar Bobby Alexander (Ina) 15-21, 21-12, 21-11; Wei Nan (Hkg) bt Loh Wei Sheng 21-15, 19-21, 21-17; Chen Yuekun (Chn) bt Yuki Kaneko (Jpn) 21-11, 21-16; Chong Wei Feng bt Woon Man Hung 21-11, 21-6; Gwee Kang Yi w.o. Lee Chong Wei; H.S. Prannoy (Ind) w.o. Simon Santoso (Ina); Takuto Inoue (Jpn) w.o. Dionysius Hayom Rumbaka (Ina); Chan Kwong Beng w.o. Simon Santoso (Ina); K. Yogendran w.o. Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Ina).

Mixed doubles: Lee Chun Hei-Chau Hoi Wah (Hkg) bt Alfian Eko Prasetya-Weni Anggraini (Ina) 21- 16, 21-9; Chooi Kah Ming-Chow Mei Kuan bt Alven Yulianto-Rizki Amelia Pradipta (Ina) 22-20, 14-21, 21-15; Edi Subaktiar-Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja (Ina) bt Wong Fai Yin-Shevon Lai Jemie 21-17, 21-15; Ong Jian Guo-Lim Yin Loo bt Terry Hee-Fu Mingtian (Sin) 21-8, 21-12; Praveen Jordan-Vita Marissa (Ina) bt Mohd Lufti Zaim Abdul Khalid-Amelia Alicia Anscelly 15-21, 21-9, 21-16; Gideon Markus Fernaldi-Aprilsasi Putri Lejarsar Variella (Ina) bt Chen Zhuofu-Yaqiang Huang (Chn) 21-14, 19-21, 30-28; Lukhi Apri Nugroho-Annisa Saufika (Ina) bt Yi Liu-Yao Lei (Sin) 21-18, 15-21, 21-19; Chan Yun-lung- Tse Ying-suet (Hkg) bt Irfan Fadhilah-Wulan Sari Sri (Ina) 21-18, 21-11; Fernando Kurniawan-Shek Hiu Yiu (Hkg) bt Chan Kwong Beng-Millicent Wiranto (Mas-Ina) 23-21, 21-17; Terry Yeo-Shinta Mulia Sari (Sin) bt Vountus Indra Mawan-Sannatasah Saniru 24-22, 21-13.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here