Goh Jin Wei wins Celcom Axiata National Circuit First Leg

Goh Jin Wei wins the Celcom Axiata National Circuit First Leg title. (photo: BAM)

Kuala Lumpur: 16-year-old Malaysian women’s singles shuttler Goh Jin Wei barely broke a sweat as she was granted an easy victory at the Celcom Axiata National Circuit First Leg finals at Juara Stadium on Saturday.

The women’s singles final between the top 2 women’s shuttlers of Malaysia lasted only 5 minutes after Tee Jing Yi conceded a walkover when trailing 2-11 in the first set.Goh Jin Wei wins the Celcom Axiata National Circuit First Leg title. (photo: BAM)

Tee Jing Yi requested medical assistance citing an ankle injury 5 minutes into the match. She was believed to sustain that injury while playing against Lee Ying Ying in the semi-finals on Friday.

As for Goh Jin Wei, she was clearly unsatisfied winning the final without playing a complete match.

“I am glad I won but I didn’t expect to win the match without playing a whole match,” said Goh Jin Wei who took home RM4, 000 in prize money.

“I lost to Jing Yi twice last year, and I have prepared thoroughly and was hoping for an upset today,” added Goh.

This was Goh Jin Wei’s second local title after she beat Lim Yin Fun to win last year’s KL Open women’s singles title.

“Nevertheless, the victory has boosted my confidence ahead of Australian Open,” said Goh.

Goh Jin Wei will make her Superseries debut in the Australian Open which will take place from June 7 to June 12. She will play Commonwealth Games gold medalist Michelle Li of Canada in the first round.

In men’s singles, Malaysia’s independent shuttler Chong Wei Feng earned RM8, 000 after defeated another former Malaysia national badminton player Goh Giap Chin 21-16, 16-21, 21-15 in 56 minutes.

“Having just came back from Thomas Cup, my fitness was not at 100% yet,” said Chong.

In women’s doubles, scratch pair Amelia Anscelly/Teoh Mei Xing pulled off an upset against the more experienced pair of Chow Mei Kuan/Lee Meng Yean in three games. Anscelly/Teoh fought hard to win the 56 minute thriller with 23-21, 18-21, 21-17.

In the mixed doubles final, top seeds Tan Kian Meng/ Lai Pei Jing defeating teammates Tan Chee Tean/Chow Mei Kuan in straight-sets. While Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi eased past Mohd Zakry Ab Latif/Hafizi Hashim 21-14, 21-9 to lift the men’s doubles title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here