China wins gold in women’s doubles at badminton worlds (pic)


China won gold in the women's doubles Saturday at the world badminton championships.

In an all-China final, top-seeded Gao Ling and Huang Sui clinched the country's sixth successive women's doubles title when they beat ninth-seeded Zhang Yawen and Wei Yili 23-21, 21-9. China also took both bronze medals.

In the men's singles, China's Bao Chunlai beat Lee Hyun-ll of South Korea 21-15, 21-19 in the opening semifinal.

Gao Ling (L) and Huang Sui bite their gold medals after winning their women's doubles final match against compatriots Zhang Yawen and Wei Yili at the World Badminton Championships in Madrid September 23, 2006.[Reuters]

"The Chinese are too strong," fifth-seeded Lee said. "Bao defended very well and forced me to make a lot of errors."

In the final, eighth-seeded Bao will face second-seeded Lin Dan, who beat Chen Hong 15-21, 21-19, 21-14. Both Dan and Hong also play for China.

In the women's singles, defending champion Xie Xingfang, seeded third, will face Olympic champion Zhang Ning.

Zhang, the top seed, beat Germany's Petra Overzier 21-19, 21-11 and Xie put out Chinese-born second-seeded Xu Huaiwen of Germany 21-12, 21-10.

Zhang goes into the final with a 9-8 advantage over Xie. "We know each other's game so well, it will really be decided by who makes the most mistakes," Xie said.

Two England pairs will face off in the mixed doubles final.

Olympic silver medalist and Commonwealth champions Nathan Robertson and Gail Emms needed six match points to beat Thailand's Sudket Prapakamol and Saralee Thoungthongkam 21-18, 17-21, 25-23, after trailing 15-11 in the third.

Anthony Clark and Donna Kellogg eliminated Malaysia's Koo Kien Keat and Wong Pei Tty 21-14, 21-12 in the other semifinal.

In the men's doubles, China's top-seeded Cai Yun and Fu Haifeng beat fourth-seeded Jens Erikssen and Martin Lundgaard Hansen of Denmark 23-21, 21-16.

Denmark also lost out in the other semifinal when England's Anthony Clark and Scotland-born Robert Blair beat 2003 world champions Lars Paaske and Jonas Rasmussen 23-21, 17-21, 21-17.

(source: ChinaDaily)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here