PV Sindhu & Tai Tzu Ying fetch USD $107,492 at India’s Premier Badminton League (PBL) Auction

PV Sindhu (L) & Tai Tzu Ying are the two highest-paid players at the 2019-2020 India Premier Badminton League (PBL). (photo: Power Sport Images/Getty Images)
PV Sindhu (L) & Tai Tzu Ying are the two highest-paid players at the 2019-2020 India Premier Badminton League (PBL). (photo: Power Sport Images/Getty Images)

New Delhi: Before the fifth season of Premier Badminton League kicks off from Dec 22, 2019 to Jan 13, 2020, seven franchises were in the running to pick up a minimum of nine players to build their squad on Tuesday, and each team was allowed at least three female shuttlers and a maximum of six foreign players but not more than 11 players in total.

India’s reigning World champion PV Sindhu was selected by Hyderabad Hunters for Rs 77 lakh (USD $107,492) while World No. 1 women’s singles player Tai Tzu Ying was also picked up by defending champions Bengaluru Raptors after a bidding war that ended with Rs 77 lakh.

However, Tai was not sure if she would participate in the fifth season of PBL due to the fact that she needed more focus on getting ready for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Two other top Indian players including World No. 12 men’s singles player Kidambi Srikanth and World No. 10 women’s singles player Saina Nehwal have also decided to pull out of the event due to the busy Olympic qualification season.

All seven teams will compete in the 21-day event to be played across 4 cities such as Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad and Lucknow.

Each franchise has a total purse of Rs 2 crore (USD $279,200) but they cannot spend more than Rs 77 lakh (USD $107,492) for a player.

The format of the upcoming edition of the league remains the same with each tie consisting of five matches — two men singles, one women singles, one men doubles and one mixed doubles.

Below are the 7 PBL teams and the players they’ve selected through the auction:

MUMBAI ROCKETS – Pia Zebadiah, Kim Sa Rang, Parupalli Kashyap, Lee Dong Keun, Pranav Jerry Chopra, Jessica Pugh, Shreyansh Jaiswal, Shlok Ramachandran, Shriyanshi Pardeshi, Kim Ji Yung

CHENNAI SUPERSTARZ – Kirsty Gilmour, Manu Attri, Gabrielle Adcock, Sanjana Santosh, Gayatri Gopichand, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Tommy Sugiarto,Sankar Muthusamy- Lakshya Sen, K. Sathish Kumar, B. Sumeeth Reddy

NORTH EASTERN WARRIORS – Michelle Li, Lee Yong Dae, Kim Ha Na, Ashmita Chaliha, Rutuparna Panda, Lee Cheuk Yiu, Kaushal Dharmamer, Bodin Isara, Krishna Garaga, Tanongsak

AWADHE WARRIORS – Ko Sung Hyun, Shin Baek Cheol, Christinna Pedersen, Subankar Dey, Ajay Jayaram, van Sozonov, Tanvi Lad, Wong Win Ki Vincent, Beiwen Zhang

PUNE ACES – Thi Trang Vu, Hendra Setiawan, Tse Ting Suet, Chris Adcock, Kuhoo Garg, Mithun Manjunath, Kazumasa Sakai, Rituparna Das, Loh Kean Yew, M.R. Arjun- Chirag Shetty

HYDERABAD HUNTERS – Vladimir Ivanov, Sourabh Verma, Daren Liew, Kiran George, Ruthvika Shivani Gade, Siki Reddy, Sean Vendy,Ben Lane, N. Sikki Reddy, P.V. Sindhu

BENGALURU RAPTORS – Eom Hye Won, Tai Tzu Ying, Brice Leverdez, Tak Ching Chang, Arun George, Chan Peng Soon, Ansal Yadav, Medha Shashidharan, B. Sai Praneeth


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here