BWF: Singapore Open Will Be the Final Olympic Qualifying Tournament

The 2021 Singapore Open will be the final Olympic qualifying event.
The 2021 Singapore Open will be the final Olympic qualifying event.

Kuala Lumpur: The Badminton World Federation (BWF) has confirmed on Monday that the Singapore Open, which will be held from June 1 to June 6, will be served as the final qualifying tournament for the Tokyo Olympics. The revised schedule has been approved by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

In the schedule released last December, BWF has stated that the Olympic qualification period will end with the India Open in New Delhi in May 2021.

BWF published the statement below on Monday in regards to the revised Olympic qualifying schedule:

“The qualification timeline consists of two periods: 29 April 2019 to 15 March 2020, and 4 January 2021 to 13 June 2021.

Eligible Tournaments

For the second qualification period, 23 eligible tournaments – including seven Grade 2, 13 Grade 3, and three continental individual championships – have been listed. Some of the listed tournaments may not be hosted within the extended qualification period; in that case, no replacement tournaments will be included. If they are hosted at a later date outside of the extended qualification period they will not be included in the Race to Tokyo rankings.

Quota Places

The total quota for badminton has been set at 172 places, of which there are 164 qualification places (82 each for men and women), two host country places and six Tripartite Commission Invitation places. The maximum number of athletes per NOC is eight men and eight women.

The initial number of athletes per event has been set at 38 each for men’s singles and women’s singles, and 32 (16 pairs) in each of the three doubles events.

In singles, there are two quota places for each NOC if both are ranked in the top 16 according to the Race to Tokyo lists of 15 June 2021. In doubles, there are two quota places per NOC if the pairs are ranked within the top eight.”

BWF said it’ll publish the finalized Race to Tokyo rankings list on 15 June 2021.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here