Angus Ng Ka Long, Akane Yamaguchi win Bitburger Open

Congratulations to Angus Ng Ka Long on winning the Bitburger Open.

Saarbrucken: No. 13 seed Angus Ng Ka Long sent compatriot No. 12 seed Vincent Wong Wing Ki packing in ruthless fashion 21-12, 21-13 to win the Bitburger Open men’s single title on Sunday.Congratulations to Angus Ng Ka Long on winning the Bitburger Open.


After the game was tied at 8-8, Ng sparked a surge and never looked back before carving out a 21-12 victory in the opening set. It proved all too easy once again for Ng in the second set, when he made a blistering start to storm past Wong 21-13 to lift the Bitburger men’s singles title. Bitburger Open was his second title of the year after he won the Austrian Open in February 2015.

Tang Yuanting/Yu Yang of China continued their frightening dominance at Bitburger Open by blitzing past Hong Kong pair Poon Lok Yan/Tse Ying Suet 21-10, 21-18 to win the women’s doubles title on Sunday.

In the mixed doubles’ draw, Robert Mateusiak/Nadiezda Zieba of Poland caused a major upset when they beat No. 1 seeds Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock of England 21-18, 21-17 for the Bitburger title. The Poland pair has levelled their head to head meetings with the Adcocks to 2-2 after their Bitburger victory.

No. 4 seed Akane Yamaguchi of Japan was made to work hard by Thailand’s No. 7 seed Busanan Ongbamrungphan before the Japanese fought back from one set down and posted a 16-21, 21-14, 21-13 win in the women’s finals on Sunday.
Mads Conrad-Petersen/Mads Pieler Kolding of Denmark were in good form heading into the men’s doubles finals at Bitburger Open. The Danish pair had made the finals last week in French Open before losing to top seeds Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong. They came to Saarbrucken with visions of securing more points to try and sew up one of the spots for the 2016 Rio Olympics. Fortunately, Mads Conrad-Petersen/Mads Pieler Kolding ended their Bitburger tourney on a high note, showing flashes of brilliance to brush aside No. 2 seeds Vladimir Ivanov/Ivan Sozonov 21-18, 21-18 in 35 minutes to win the men’s doubles title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here