Anders Antonsen, Wang Zhi Yi Win 2024 Indonesia Masters

Anders Antonsen (R) and Brian Yang pose for pictures during the award ceremony. (photo: BWF)
Anders Antonsen (R) and Brian Yang pose for pictures during the award ceremony. (photo: BWF)

Jakarta: Faced with the dark horse Brian Yang of Canada, Denmark’s Anders Antonsen displayed superior skills and secured victory in the 2024 Indonesia Masters final on Sunday.

Highlights of Anders Antonsen vs. Brian Yang in the 2024 Indonesia Masters final:

The 22-year-old Canadian men’s singles player, Brian Yang, made an impressive run in this year’s Indonesia Masters, reaching the final by defeating China’s world No. 3, Asian Games and All England champion Li Shifeng in the first round, world no. 10 Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia in the quarter-finals, and Indonesia’s world No. 4, Asian champion Anthony Sinisuka Ginting in the semifinals.

In today’s final, the world no. 24 Brian Yang faced Denmark’s Antonsen, who had won the Malaysia Super 1000 tournament two weeks ago and was ranked 7th in the world. The intense battle lasted for 1 hour and 26 minutes, with Antonsen eventually winning 18-21, 21-13, 21-18.

As a result, Antonsen successfully reached and won the finals in both tournaments he participated in this year, establishing himself as the hottest men’s singles player early in the 2024 season.

Indonesia, world no. 11 men’s doubles pair Leo Rolly Carnando/Daniel Marthin managed to defend their title at their home tournament, overcoming Denmark’s world’s runners-up Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen with a score of 21-12, 20-22, 21-11 in the final.

Meanwhile, China secured three titles in this year’s Indonesia Masters, making it the country with the most championships after participating in three events in the BWF World Tour early this season.

World no. 10 Wang Ziyi won her first Super 500 or higher-level championship of her professional career by defeating Japan’s former world champion Nozomi Okuhara 21-14, 21-13 in the women’s singles final. This victory also marked Wang Ziyi’s first title in almost two years, with her last championship being the Asian Championships women’s singles in April 2022.

Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong secured their first title of the season with a 21-15, 21-16 victory over Japan’s Hiroki Midorikawa/Natsu Saito, while the world no. 5 Liu Shengshu/Tan Ning reversing the outcome against the world no. 6 Zhang Shuxian/Zheng Yu after a thrilling 1 hour and 25 minutes, winning 10-21, 21-19, 22-20.

This marked Liu Shengshu/Tan Ning’s second title this year after winning the Malaysia Super 1000 tournament two weeks ago, where they also defeated Zhang Shuxian/Zheng Yu.

Despite reaching the finals in all three tournaments this year, Zhang Shuxian/Zheng Yu faced a unique “triple runner-up” scenario, losing in all three finals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here