Lee Chong Wei becomes badminton’s all-time best in Super Series events

Lee Chong Wei captures unprecedented 46 Super Series titles. (photo: BadmintonPlanet.com)
Lee Chong Wei captures unprecedented 46 Super Series titles. (photo: BadmintonPlanet.com)

Kuala Lumpur: The Badminton World Federation (BWF) Super Series, launched on December 14, 2006, kicked off its inaugural season in 2007 with Malaysia Open that was held on January 16, 2007 and ended its eleventh season with Hong Kong Super Series on November 26, 2017.

Although the Super Series era was a milestone in badminton history and led to much better conditions for professional badminton players and badminton’s popularity had spread worldwide, BWF has decided to roll out a completely revamped schedule and has replaced Super Series with “World Tour” for the year 2018. In other words, the Super Series tournaments are now a thing of the past.

Since 2007, the Malaysian badminton superstar Lee Chong Wei had won a staggering 46 Super Series men’s singles titles, meaning Lee won an average of 4 Super Series titles per year, and his unprecedented accomplishments in Super Series had made him one of badminton’s greatest men’s singles players of all-time.

South Korean badminton star Lee Yong-Dae came in second with total of 43 Super Series Champions (37 men’s doubles titles and 6 mixed doubles titles).

Zhao Yunlei, the former World Champions and Olympic gold medalist and Yu Yang from China tied for the third place with total of 42 Super Series titles each.

Two-time Olympic champion, Lin Dan of China, who had engaged with Lee Chong Wei in a storied rivalry which was considered to be the golden age in badminton history, ranked No. 9 with 21 Super Series titles.

Meanwhile, China’s Chen Long was tied in 10th place with Wang Yihan who also from China where each of them had won total of 20 Super Series champions in men’s singles and women’s singles respectively.

Since 2011, the Super Series includes two levels of tournament, Super Series Premier and Super Series. A season of Super Series features twelve tournaments around the world, including five of them classified as Super Series Premier. Top eight players/pairs in each discipline in Super Series standings are invited to the Super Series Finals held at the year end.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here