Lin Dan is set to play in the Asian Badminton Championships

Lin Dan will first play in China Masters Grand Prix Gold, and then Asian Badminton Championships

Beijing: Two-time Olympic gold medalist Lin Dan will take part in the Asian Badminton Championships (ABC) in Gimcheon, South Korea from April 22-27.

Lin Dan will first play in China Masters Grand Prix Gold, and then Asian Badminton ChampionshipsLee Chong Wei will skip the tournament and Badminton Association of Malaysia is going to pay Badminton Asia Confederation (BAC), a fine of US$2,000 (RM6,500) for withdrawing Chong Wei from the men’s singles event. In addition to Lee Chong Wei, Malaysia will also withdraw doubles pairs Hoon Thien How-Tan Wee Kiong and Lim Khim Wah-Goh V Shem. Of course, Malaysia will have to pay the fine for withdrawing these pairs.


Lin Dan will however make his first appearance this year to compete in the China Masters Grand Prix Gold in Jiangsu, China, on Wednesday before playing in ABC.

These back to back tournaments will be Lin Dan’s first two appearances in 8 months after beating Chong Wei in the final of the World Championships in Guangzhou in August last year.

Previously, every nation could send whoever that wants to the tournament; but this year, in order to ensure only quality players compete in their main tournament, the shuttlers have to qualify based on the Asian rankings and those who withdraw without a medical letter will be fined. When a player is withdrawn, the next best ranked player will be eligible for the championships.

Each country can have a maximum of four players each in the men’s singles, women’s singles and mixed doubles and a maximum of three entries each in the men’s doubles and women’s doubles. The draw is limited to 32 players for every event.

According to BAC’s final phase of qualifiers list, China will send world No. 107 Lin Dan, Xue Song and Guo Kai.

China, however, will be fine for withdrawing Chen Long, Du Pengyu and Wang Zhengming.

Malaysia will send players below to ABC:
Men’s singles: Chong Wei Feng, Liew Daren, Goh Soon Huat.
Men’s doubles: Chooi Kah Ming-Teo Ee Yi, Nelson Heg Wei Keat-Low Juan Shen.
Women’s singles: Tee Jing Yi, Yang Li Lian, Lim Chiew Sien, Lim Yin Fun.
Women’s doubles: Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei, Amelia Anscelly-Soong Fie Cho, Lee Meng Yean-Lim Yin Loo.
Mixed doubles: Tan Aik Quan-Lai Pei Jing, Ong Jian Guo-Lim Yin Loo, Mohd Lutfi Zaim Abdul Khalid-Soong Fie Cho.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here