12 teams to compete at Malaysia Purple League (MPL)

Lee Chong Wei represents Petaling badminton club in Malaysia Purple League

Kuala Lumpur: Malaysia’s first ever professional badminton league also known as Malaysia Purple League (MPL) will begin on Oct 15, 2014 with 12 franchise teams competing for the MPL title.Lee Chong Wei represents Petaling badminton club in Malaysia Purple League

The competition will feature new rules aimed at making the game faster, more exciting and attacking for fans watching both in the arenas and on television through the 11 points, best of 5 scoring format.

A tie is consist of six matches – two men’s singles, two men’s doubles, one women’s singles and one mixed doubles. Each badminton club can only represented by no more than 30% of foreign players, and each foreign player can only play maximum of 2 matches per tie.

Winner of each tie will receive 4 points, a draw gives each team 2 points, the losing team will get 1 point, and 0 point for team that do not compete. The team with the highest points at the end of season will walk home with prize money RM1 million, prize money for runner-up is RM 300,000, third place is RM 150,000, fourth to tenth place will win RM80,000 each.

World number one Lee Chong Wei will be playing for the Petaling Badminton Club.

Here is the list of all badminton clubs and owners:


Badminotn Clubs Owners
1 Ampang Jaya BC Ho Khek Mong
2 Puchong BC Andy Lor and Jeremy Gan
3 Kepong BC Tan Boon Heong and Candy Bee
4 Muar City BC Nova Armada and Anthony Lim
5 Nusajaya BC Ooi Sock Ai
6 Bangsar Hawks BC Nara Visvalingam and Jivananthan
7 Ipoh BC Clarence Tim
8 Klang United BC Yap Kim Hock
9 Serdang BC Ong Ewe Hock
10 Petaling BC Looi Badminton Academy
11 Cheras BC Raezal Hyssein and Chor Hooi Yee
12 Petaling Jaya BC K. Yogendran, Yeoh Kay Bin and Manoj


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here