Mads Pieler Kolding unleashes 426 km/h smash (4 videos)

Mads Pieler Kolding receives a check for his smashing record that clocked 426km/h. (photo: AP)

Kuala Lumpur: Badminton has always been considered as the fastest sport in the world. The shuttlecock can travel as fast as 493km/h in a record set by Malaysia’s Tan Boon Heong in 2013 during a new product tryout session conducted by badminton racket manufacturer YONEX.Mads Pieler Kolding receives a check for his smashing record that clocked 426km/h. (photo: AP)

The fastest badminton smash in a Badminton World Federation (BWF) accredited competition was achieved by Malaysian badminton maestro Lee Chong Wei during the 2015 Hong Kong Open where he clocked a 408 km/h powerful smash that was verified by the BWF and was recorded by Hawk-Eye Innovations. Lee’s record has also acknowledged by Guinness World Records as the fastest badminton hit in competition.

While playing in India’s Premier Badminton League on Jan 11, Mads Pieler Kolding of Denmark who stands tall at 6-foot-9 has also set a smashing record with 426km/h.

Kolding was awarded a check of 21,000 Rupees for his achievement from the Premier Badminton League after his Jan 11 match.

Despite the impressive speed by Kolding, it is unsure if this will be added to the official record as one of the fastest smash ever recorded, as the Premier Badminton League was not a tournament officially accredited by BWF.

According to Guinness World Records, prior to Lee Chong Wei’s 408 km/h record, the fastest recorded smash during competition belonged to China’s Fu Haifeng, who managed to smash a 332 km/h shot during the 2005 Sudirman Cup. However, based on’s research, Fu Haifeng’s fastest smash was actually at 373km/h.

On the same topic, Indonesia’s Mohammad Ahsan also hit a 385km/h smash at the 2015 France Open semi-final against Mads Conrad-Petersen and Mads Pieler Kolding who has created the 426 km/h smash record.

Here are the top five fastest badminton smashes in men’s singles and women’s singles:

Men’s Singles:

Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) 408km/h (Hong Kong Open 2015)

Jan O Jorgensen (Denmark) 407km/h (Malaysia Open 2016)

Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) 404km/h (Japan Open 2015)

Parupalli Kashyap (India) 401km/h (Japan Open 2015)

Lin Dan (China) 401km/h (Japan Open 2015)

Women’s Singles:

Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand) 372km/h (Malaysia Open 2016)

Tai Tzu Ying (Taiwan) 360km/h (All England 2016)

Wang Yihan (China) 359km/h (Malaysia Open 2016)

Saina Nehwal (India) 357km/h (All England 2016)

Carolina Marin (Spain) 356km/h (All England 2016)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here