Poul-Erik Hoyer Larsen re-elected Badminton World Federation (BWF) President

Congratulations to Poul-Erik Hoyer Larsen on his re-election as President of BWF. (photo: AP)

Kuala Lumpur: The 1996 Summer Olympics men’s singles gold medalist, Poul-Erik Hoyer Larsen of Denmark was re-elected last Friday to a second four-year term as President of Badminton World Federation (BWF).Congratulations to Poul-Erik Hoyer Larsen on his re-election as President of BWF. (photo: AP)

The 51-year-old Dane was the lone candidate for the President position when nomination expired last Friday.

Hoyer Larsen took over the BWF president position in May 2013 when  former president Dr. Kang Young Joong decided to step down after two terms (eight years) at the helm.

The positions for BWF deputy president and BWF vice-president for Para-badminton were also uncontested. Peru’s Gustavo Salazar Delgado and Switzerland’s Paul Kurzo managed to retain their positions respectively for the next four years.

Since the badminton will make its Paralympic Games debut at Tokyo 2020, Paul Kurzo has been tasked to spearhead the initiatives.

A group of 18 members will be selected from among 35 members across all five continental confederations to fill 18 vacancies on the 27-member BWF Council during the BWF Annual General Meeting that will be held at the Gold Coast in Australia on May 20th.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here