Shi Yu Qi Beats Lu Guang Zu To Win 2022 Australian Open

Shi Yu Qi beats Lu Guang Zu to win the 2022 Australian Open. (photo: Xin Hua)
Shi Yu Qi beats Lu Guang Zu to win the 2022 Australian Open. (photo: Xin Hua)

Sydney: After winning the Denmark Open on October 23, 2022, defeating World No. 2 Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia 21-18, 16-21, 21-12, China’s World No. 29 Shi Yu Qi captured his second Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Tour title in one month on Sunday –  the 2022 Australian Open, when he defeated compatriot and World No. 19 Lu Guang Zu 21-19, 18-21, 21-5 in 69 minutes.

Previously, Shi Yu Qi had faced Lu Guang Zu three times in international tournaments and won two of them. His only loss to Lu was at the 2019 China Open when Shi was still recovering from his ankle injury but had to compete in order to earn qualifying points for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Highlights of Shi Yu Qi vs. Lu Guang Zu in the 2022 Australian Open finals:

This was Shi’s second time winning two titles within a one-month period. On October 30, 2016, he defeated Lee Hyun-Il of Korea 21-16, 21-19 to win the French Open, and one week after that, he outlasted Sourabh Varma of India 21-19, 22-20 to clinch the 2016 Bitburger Open Grand Prix Gold title.

Coincidentally, the 2016 Bitburger Open Grand Prix Gold men’s doubles title was won by Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi of Malaysia when they beat Michael Fuchs/Johannes Schoettler of Germany 21-16, 21-18, and Ong/Teo also made the Australian Open final on Sunday. However, the Malaysians were seen struggling to keep up with their opponents – Liu Yu Chen/Ou Xuan Yi of China in the first set before coming back with a better performance in the second, but failed to push the match to the decider by losing 16-21, 20-22.

Highlights of Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi vs. Liu Yu Chen/Ou Xuan Yi in the 2022 Australian Open finals:

Ong/Teo last won an international tournament at the Thailand Masters in January 2020 by overcoming the challenges of Huang Kai Xiang/Liu Cheng 18–21, 21–17, 21–17.

The World No. 8 men’s pair from Malaysia is expected to compete at the BWF World Tour Finals which is scheduled to take place in Bangkok from December 7 to December 11.

In addition to men’s singles, and men’s doubles, China also won the women’s doubles event when Zhang Shu Xian/Zheng Yu overcame Benyapa Aimsaard/Nuntakarn Aimsaard of Thailand 21-19, 21-13 in the final.

Meanwhile, the Korean team took home two titles on Sunday – the women’s singles title through An Se Young and the mixed doubles title through Seo Seung Jae/Chae Yu Jung.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here