Iskandar Zulkarnain and Tee Jing Yi crowned Malaysia Champions

Wishing Iskandar Zulkarnain every success in 2016. (photo: Bernama)

Kuala Lumpur: Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin finished the 2015 season on a high note by clinching the Malaysia National Circuit Grand Prix Badminton Finals at Juara Stadium in Bukit Kiara on Sunday.

In dominating fashion, Iskandar took total control to win the one-sided men’s singles final match against his sparring partner in the national team, Chong Yee Han with 21-8, 21-10 in 25 minutes to take home RM14,000, while Chong received RM7,200.Wishing Iskandar Zulkarnain every success in 2016. (photo: Bernama)

“I am excited to end the year on a high, and I am aiming for more success next year,” said Zulkarnain.

The Malaysia national champion was his fifth title of the year, after winning Perak Open in July, Singapore International Series in August, Poland International Series in September and the Switzerland International Series in October.

In the women’s competition, Tee Jing Yi defeated the 2015 World Junior champion Goh Jin Wei in straight sets, 21-14, 21-10 to win her fourth national title. Tee has won the same title in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

“I am happy for Jin Wei’s success in winning the world junior title. I hope she can achieve great success in the senior level as well,” said Tee.

Tee took home RM8,000 while Goh collected RM4,000 as the silver medalist.

Malaysia’s independent pair Mohd Arif and Nur Mohd Azriyn defeated Malaysia’s national back-up pair of Teo Ee Yi/Tan Wee Gieen 11-21, 21-15, 22-20 to win RM22,000 as champions, while Teo/Tan were awarded RM12,000.

Chow Mei Kuan who partnered Vivian Hoo to win the 2014 Malaysia national title, teamed up with Chin Kah Mun this year to beat Joyce Choong Wai Chi/Yap Cheng Wen, 22-20, 21-10 to win the women’s doubles title.

Meanwhile, Tan Aik Quan/Lai Pei Jing dismissed their junior teammates Ong Yew Sin/Lee Meng Yean, 21-18, 21-10 to win the mixed doubles crown.

The champions for women’s doubles and mixed doubles won a cash prize RM11,000 while the runners-up for both events took home RM6,000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here